Sales Associate License Requirements:
A Sales Associate Applicant must be:
- 18 years of age or older
- have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- be honest, truthful, trustworthy, of good character, and have a reputation for fair dealing
- be competent and qualified to make real estate transactions and conduct negotiations with safety to investors and others.
Sales associate candidates must successfully complete Course I or an equivalent FREC-approved prelicense course. The course is based on understanding and applying the fundamentals of real estate principles and practices, real estate law, real estate license law, and real estate mathematics.
Course I consists of 60 hours of instruction plus 3 hours for an end-of-course examination. The end-of-course examination consists of 100 questions worth 1 point each and is normally organized with 45 questions on principles and practices, 45 questions on real estate law, and 10 math questions.
Post-Licensing Education Requirement:
Sales associates are required to successfully complete a prescribed post-licensing education requirement before the first renewal of their licenses. This requirement has the effect of placing all initial licenses in a conditional (probationary) status because failure to complete the post-licensing education requirement will cause the initial license to become null and void. Sales associates who do not complete the 45-hour post-licensing requirement and want to continue in the real estate business are required to requalify for licensure by repeating the prelicense course and end-of-course exam and by again passing the state licensing exam.
(Source: Florida Real Estate Principles, Practices, & Law, available in the Bookstore)
See Florida Law in post below….